Americanah

Americanah

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
58
4
1
Rate this:
"A young woman from Nigeria leaves behind her home and her first love to start a new life in America, only to find her dreams are not all she expected"-- Provided by publisher
Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2013
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780307455925
9780307271082
0307271080
Branch Call Number: FIC Adic
Characteristics: 477 p

Opinion

From Library Staff

Adichie's bestselling novel examines themes including racism, immigration (both legal and illegal), and cultural identity in a tale about a young Nigerian woman who leaves her home when she receives a scholarship to study at an American university.

Made them feel like they were there, think, and learn about others' experiences. For fans of Zadie Smith and Jump Lahiri.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

KarenTherese Jul 17, 2017

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has written a, lush and evocative novel about the choices and challenges while moving across the globe and back amidst changing circumstances. Teenagers Obinze and Ifemelu fall in love in Lagos while attending secondary school. Nigeria is under dictatorship and many are leaving to establish better lives abroad. Ifemelu, energetic and goal directed leaves to study in America. Obithize studious and retiring, hopes to join her but plans are derailed 9/11 results in him not being allowed to enter the country. He goes to London and begins a perilous journey as an undocumented person. Though both undergo extreme hardships, they press on and years later and face tough decisions about the paths chosen. I cannot say enough good things about this richly readable novel filled with humor, pathos, wisdom from the mouths of believable multidimensional characters. It is a look at American culture through the eyes of immigrants, how characters have dreams shattered and how dreams emerge reshaped eventually by experiences that hone truth from the veils of fantasy. Becoming "Americanah" or being a Nigerian who returns to Nigeria from America with a tinge of another world, is an experience readers will share with characters who they will cheer on!

q
QnVz
Jun 12, 2017

Definitely an ambitious novel but I enjoyed the read after being recommended by a conversation I had with a coworker and by the Chapel Hill Book Club. I definitely was disappointed with abrupt short ending that felt quite cut off and I agree with comments below that I would have liked Adichie to have delved into her characters more. Enjoyed the descriptiveness and insight. Enjoyed the dialogue and way the book was set up. I wasn't ready for it to end, but I'm not sure where it would have kept on going either.

c
CarleeMcDot
Apr 29, 2017

A few friends had recommended this book but I didn't really know what to expect when it became available at the library. Come to find out, it was much deeper than I was originally expecting - a novel with love, race, identity, culture and more all wrapped into one. The only thing that I struggled with was the length of the book (and that might just be because this past month life got busy and I had less time for reading, so 600 pages was a little intense of an undertaking for me), but the content was well worth the time!

t
teagangriffey
Mar 07, 2017

I was thrilled to find this on the shelves of my local library, not so ecstatic about the voluptuous size however, but, I flew through this book. It has been awhile since I took on such a mammoth task and during the school semester!

Overall, I really enjoyed immersing myself in the lives of both Imfemlu and Obinze. It's hard to say what else made this book such a good read, it just was! For me personally, I was able to have a better understanding of Imfemlu's culture and the experiences of immigrants when they arrive in other countries.

Some criticism though to justify the four stars... I really didn't like the ending, it was so anticlimactic and took ages to get to and once I got to it, it was so short lived! When I read in to the author I discovered that the book seemed to be a parallel her life in so many ways. Perhaps the ending was so underwhelming because she felt too connected to Imfemlu and wasn't sure how she wanted the story to end.

I also found the inclusion of the blog posts annoying but I understand why they were included. They were just so different from the authors style of writing that I didn't like it when I had to read one...

Another observation (which was pointed out to me in other reviews) was that it seemed to be a bit of America bashing. Understandably there should have been, but it was sprinkled amongst most of the experiences Imfemlu had and made her character bitter, even when things started to go right for her.

I have certainly added more of Adichie's titles to my TBR because of this book

c
Candaceb108
Dec 16, 2016

I loved the book. Everyone has expressed what I felt about many aspects of the book. Most telling for me was how deepened my sense of white privilege is having read it, and the irony that the heroine experienced a bit of 'American' privilege upon returning to Nigeria.

c
cknightkc
Oct 03, 2016

At its core, AMERICANAH is a love story, but for me this was the least interesting aspect of this overly ambitious novel. Rather what caught my attention was the author’s keen observations on a myriad of issues, including: race, class, gender, culture, immigration/ emigration, the role of technology (cellphones, computers, blogging) in human interactions as well as, the politics of natural kinky hair. In this current era of “Black Lives Matter”, this book raised my awareness of what it’s like to be black on a daily basis in America, and reminded me that despite the progress that has been made in electing the first Black-American President, inequalities and prejudices persist.

d
distractible
Aug 22, 2016

This novel revolves around beautifully drawn, lovable but flawed characters. Its wonderful descriptions and natural-sounding dialogue make it a fluid pleasure to read. The plot meanders--it's a coming-of-age story with some loose ends--but in that way it feels even more true to life. It also tackles serious issues around racism and gender in a sure-footed way. I loved it and sped through it; I think this book will appeal to people who like character-driven novels, as opposed to plot-driven ones.

m
Marcia_McL
Aug 18, 2016

Read this for a book group. Very interesting look at what it's like to be an immigrant in the US, as an African, and why some people choose to return to Africa rather than stay in our racist society.

x
xiaojunbpl12
Aug 17, 2016

I love the writing, effortless with grace. Story is well told, with expansive intricacies, and always interesting. As a book of social realism and criticism, issues on race, keen and strong though, stop short on what many can tell; the love story (along with many relationships detailed) allures like fairy tales.

DLBookWorm Aug 06, 2016

This book was great! I loved it!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

c
cknightkc
Oct 03, 2016

"...he lived in London indeed but invisibly, his existence like an erased pencil sketch..."

c
cknightkc
Oct 03, 2016

"She liked that he wore their relationship so boldly, like a brightly colored shirt."

DLBookWorm Aug 06, 2016

“That her relationship with him was like being content in a house but always sitting by the window and looking out”

l
labrys
Jul 26, 2015

“Racism should never have happened and so you don't get a cookie for reducing it.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CHPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top