A Rogue by Any Other Name

A Rogue by Any Other Name

Rules of Scoundrels Series, Book 1

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
4
1
Rate this:
Publisher: 2012
ISBN: 9780062065384
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

This was the winner of the 2013 RITA award in historical romance. It features the passionate romance between a dark hero and a plucky heroine who has secretly been in love with him for years.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

w
warhammer41
Jan 25, 2018

Very good and quick read. I have read most of the author's books and I have loved them.

CMLibrary_sdeason Feb 03, 2016

On his quest for revenge, Bourne forces his childhood friend into marriage to gain back his property. Lady Penelope recognizes the boy she once adored, but quickly learns that this man will need help reclaiming more than just property. Excellent!

m
marthabelle
Sep 28, 2015

I recently read MacLean's Love By Numbers series, and was excited to read this quartet since it features some minor characters from that trilogy, and was not disappointed. While this doesn't break much new ground in the well-mined territory of Regency romances, both main characters are interesting with intriguing backstories, the supporting characters are excellent, and the setup for later books in the series has me eager to read more. MacLean balances romance and humor quite well, and I'd recommend this for fans of Julia Quinn and Eloisa James.

a
acornsandnuts
Nov 07, 2013

Maclean’s latest focuses on Lady Penelope Marbury, years after she was jilted by the Duke of Leighton (as told in Maclean’s previous book, Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart). Michael, Marquess of Bourne, lost his inheritance to his devious guardian, and, since then, has increased his funds and his notoriety -- but not his respectability -- by running one of London’s most exclusive gaming hells. Still, he wants what he does not have: social standing, and his childhood home, which has been offered up as part of his childhood friend Penelope’s dowry. Naturally, he kidnaps Penelope and marries her, and she pretends to all it is a love match.

With her trademark humor and wit, Maclean offers up another heroine in the vein of Austen: smart, plucky, and opinionated, but all too familiar with the strictures society places on her. The challenges Penelope faces in her marriage to Bourne are at turns frustrating and heartwarming, and the growth and change in Penelope and Bourne’s marriage makes for a read that is at turns fun, engrossing, and steamy.

Age

Add Age Suitability

brihawkins13 Apr 06, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...
CHPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top