The Long Walk

The Long Walk

Book - 1999
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
In the near future, where Amerika has become a police state, one hundred boys are selected to enter an annual contest where the winner will be awarded whatever he wants for the rest of his life. The game is simple - maintain a steady walking pace of four miles per hour without stopping. Three warnings, and you're out - permanently
Publisher: New York : Signet, c1999
ISBN: 9780613173506
0613173503
Branch Call Number: FIC Bach
Characteristics: 370 p. ; 18 cm
Additional Contributors: King, Stephen 1947-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
susan_findlay
Apr 03, 2017

This came recommended as "you liked Battle Royale; you'll like The Long Walk". Definitely much better than Rage. The concept is interesting and this time the characters actually have some depth. Nevertheless, the author never made me actually *care* about the walkers. So, it was a book to read for the plot and theme, but not the characters. I am a "read for the characters" type and, while the book was worth reading, I didn't enjoy it as much as others of its genre.

m
Miathemage
Jun 23, 2016

Suspenseful. Mind-twisting. This is a read you can't put down. It's especially interesting from a psychoanalytic perspective - I won't spoil that part though!

t
tamaracyan
Nov 06, 2015

I could never understand why this novel is not at the very top of the list of Stephen King works. It is a masterpiece. No aliens, no paranormal stuff. Technically the story could be true, but hopefully the society would never get twisted enough for it to come to fruition.
Still, Mr. King has created a haunting and uncomfortable atmosphere. The reader pretty much knows who will come up on top at the end of the story, still, the grip of suspense remains strong. For fans of "Misery" and "Dolores Claiborne", this is a novel that stands equal in quality. Worth a read.

kittya Dec 27, 2011

This is one of my favorite book of all time. I first read it as a teenager and read it 3 more times since. Beware, this is kind of a traumatizing book!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CHPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top