Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach

Downloadable Video - 2007
Rate this:
His playing too advanced for small-town churches, his cantatas far more complex than those of his contemporaries (and thus under-appreciated), Bach initially found his genius thwarted. This program surveys the amazing achievements of the man of whom Beethoven said: "Not brook but ocean should be his name." Interviews with cellist Pablo Casals and organist Pierre Cambourian complement an array of selections from Bach's music, such as Pascal Roge playing Prelude No. 16 of The Well-Tempered Clavier; Gustav Leonhardt playing Fugue No. 12 from The Art of Fugue; and Karl Richter conducting the St. Matthew Passion, Brandenburg Concerto No. 1, and Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group, [2007], c1998
Branch Call Number: eVideo
Characteristics: 1 streaming video file (27 min.) : sd., col., digital


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at CHPL

To Top